Boardwalk Empire: Arnold Rothstein the Gambler

Capture

My own transcript of a scene from episode eight in the second season of Boardwalk Empire, and a conversation between Enoch ‘Nucky’ Thompson, John Torrio and Arnold Rothstein.

John Torrio

Nucky.

Arnold Rothstein

Mr. Thompson.

Enoch ‘Nucky’ Thompson

Thank you for coming. Apologize for the accommodations.

Arnold

How do we do this in private?

John

How can we help, Nuck?

Nucky

You can start by getting the peasants who work for you in line. Vito Scalercio?

John

Never heard of him.

Nucky

Well he shot me, John. And before the FED shot him he was living in a building leased by your boy.

John

What?

Nucky

Al Capone.

John

I knew something was up. The little prick’s been talking to your Jimmy Darmody.

Arnold

He came to see me months ago.

John

Al did?

Arnold

Mr. Darmody, offering to sell me liquor.

Nucky

Now you’re telling me this?

Arnold

The day after you were arrested. In any case I turned him down.

Nucky

And Luciano? Lansky? Can you woutch for them?

Arnold

If there not in cahoots with Darmody? No, I can’t. But I can tell you one of Waxey Gordon’s men was killed making a delivery last month. A failed high jacking, I was told.

Nucky

The pups have grown fangs, gentlemen.

John

What are you gonna do?

Nucky

What would you do, John?

John

Kill that prick.

Nucky

I’m under indictment, the FED’s are up my ass.

John

Then take a plea, retire or something.

Nucky

With what? All my money is tied up in the land deal.

Arnold

Do nothing.

Nucky

I beg you pardon?

Arnold

If you have no move Mr. Thompson, you do nothing.

John

He’s under attach, Arnold.

Arnold

All the more reason for patience. I’ve made my living Mr. Thompson, in large part as a gambler. Some days I make twenty bets, some days I make none. There are weeks, sometimes months in fact when I don’t make a bet at all, because there simply is no play. So I wait, plan, marshal my resources. And when I finally see an opportunity, and there is a bet to make. I bet it all.

“Experience tends to confirm a long-held notion that being prepared, on a few occasions in a lifetime, to act promptly in scale, in doing some simple and logical thing, will often dramatically improve the financial results of that lifetime. A few major opportunities, clearly recognizable as such, will usually come to one who continuously searches and waits, with a curious mind that loves diagnosis involving multiple variables. Then all that is required is a willingness to bet heavily when the odds are extremely favorable, using resources available because of prudence and patience in the past.” ―Charlie Munger

Disclosure: I wrote this article myself, and it expresses my own opinions. I am not receiving compensation for it. I have no business relationship with any company or individual mentioned in this article. I have no positions in any stocks mentioned.

Leave a Reply

